Today

My wife is amazing, and I woke up this morning to an extra sleep-in, gifts, cards, coffee and brunch.  We have to day to spend together and I’m full of love for our little family.

We’ve been getting texts and facebook messages wishing us well. There’s just one thing, and I’m going to vent here, because I really don’t want to snap at a completely well-meaning friend or family member:

This is not our first Mother’s Day.  We were mothers last year, because we’d had a son.

Thank you.

To all of you without your moms, without your children, or still working on welcoming babies, may the day be as kind to you as possible.

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in grief. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today

  1. Yes, it is not your first Mother’s Day. I hope people aknowledge that.

Leave a Reply

