Oh, my heart.

Sleep training is crushing my soul, a little.  Lots of patting/soothing my exhausted, wailing baby.

Also, we both slept for a little more than 5 hours in a row last night.

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, my heart.

  1. Emz says:

    it will get better- hang in there! might not be applicable but my tot just got more angry when i went in and out doing checks. calmed down much more quickly when we sat outside (glued to the monitor, rocking, shaking and trying not to cry 🙂 )

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh, it’s sooooo hard isn’t it?! our boy (now 18 months) was a terrible sleeper but with both kids I found white noise very helpful. The CD we use is called “Sounds for Silence” and works well if you start it off on full blast (louder than the crying!) and turn it down softly when they’re asleep. My kids slept so much better when I left it on repeat all night. At around 20 months my daughter (now 5) switched to quiet Mozart piano music on repeat and around 3 she asked to not have it any more. It’s not a big deal if you go away, just take the CD player with you. it’s my only suggestion sorry! I couldn’t face “cry it out” or controlled crying strategies until my kiddies were over 12 months. Good luck!!!!

  3. Allison says:

    I wish you the best! It certainly isn’t easy!!

Leave a Reply

