Four Months

Four months!  We have an actual sturdy baby person instead of a newborn.  I often feel these days that I can actually watch her grow if I look closely enough, and every time Lauren travels for business she comes back to a different kid.

Honestly, the best of the batch.

Honestly, the best of the batch.

So many developmental milestones this month – Moose is getting really good at using her hands to pick up and examine everything before putting it in her mouth, she can roll front to back (I think mainly to avoid tummy time) and back to front (then immediately gets mad that she’s on her front).  My favourite new trick this month has been Moose finding her voice – she’s babbling constantly and often does what we call her “singing” – the happiest coos and sighs imaginable.

And then there’s sleep.  Oh, sleep.  It’s bad.

We were on a pretty good roll there for a while, but the 4 month sleep regression combined with a baby who still can’t fall asleep on her own have made for some tired moms.  Not to mention an overtired baby!  It’s a good example of how you can’t judge ahead of time how you’re going to feel as a parent, because if you’d asked me a few months ago if I’d be ready to sleep train with a baby this age, I would have said absolutely not.  Everyone has an opinion, of course, but the conclusion Lauren and I have reached is that we need to teach Moose to self-soothe, because she’s miserable when she doesn’t get enough rest and that’s not fair to her.  I’m also desperate for more than two hours of sleep in a row. We hired a sleep consultant (essentially to hold my hand, let’s be honest) and we’re going to start some graduated “sleep coaching” later in the week.  Nothing dire, but no more rocking to sleep in this house.  We’ll see how it goes!

Notes from the month:

  • I didn’t think it would happen this early, but Moose is showing much suspicion towards people that are not us.  She’s fine to be talked to and will flash her wide smile, but woe betide the person who tries to hold her.
  • She has an incredible ability to entertain herself, which I appreciate. She’s actually starting to arch away when she’s done with snuggling, because she has very important baby things to do on her blanket or play mat.
  • We visited my school last week and it was fun to show her off to my coworkers.  Unfortunately my students were a little over-enthusiastic to see Moose and her reaction was not favourable.  I felt bad for them. (Line of the visit… “Why can’t you make your baby happy?”)
  • Big likes this month:  almost all toys, particularly her crinkly Eric Carle book and any kind of teether or rattle, Raffi,  riding in the carrier (now that she can see it’s better, I think), being thrown up in the air (by Mommy, Mama’s not sure enough of her dexterity), having her belly blown on, paper bags, looking at other babies, rolling/playing on the floor, being nosefrida’d (go figure) and grabbing glasses from a mom’s face.
  • Dislikes: being held by anybody but us, hats (still), having to go to sleep in any form, being tired, getting out of the bath, having lotion put on, when the dropper full of baby Tylenol is gone (yikes).

Sleep notwithstanding, this has been a fun stage.  It’s one of the reasons that we have to get sleep sorted – my own mood is so negatively affected by fatigue and I want to enjoy Moose’s fleeting babyhood.  She’s growing so fast!

Just for fun, the “I’m not interested in sitting up right now” series:

IMG_0144 IMG_0145 IMG_0147 IMG_0150 IMG_0151 IMG_0154 IMG_0155

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Four Months

  1. Allison says:

    Her face in that second to last photo!
    We are currently “sleep training”/night weaning our 26m old. Makes me think we should have been tougher when she was 4 months old. Sleep is so wonderful. But I do kind of miss the mid-night snuggles.

    • Her faces kill us on a daily basis.

      I love the snuggles too! But I very nearly brushed my teeth with face wash the other morning – Oh, sleep deprivation. Good luck with the training/weaning!

  2. B says:

    She’s so cute! The 4 month sleep regression sucks big time! But we started letting our son self-soothe and within a month he was sleeping beautifully through the night. It’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

