Conversations today in which I dissolved into tears:

1.  Talking with Gladys at Employee Services about my leave (these were mainly tears of rage). Discussing why they will not accept a letter from my OB stating that Ezra was stillborn at 22 weeks on August 6.  Apparently they also need my original due date and are unable to subtract 22 from 40.  Mild tears escalated into sobs when trying to explain why I don’t especially want to sit around in my OB’s office with all the pregnant woman right now, getting a second letter confirming that my baby is dead.

2.  My OB’s office answering machine.  See above.

3.  Talking aloud to myself while writing an email to my union.

4.  Sitting in the Employment Insurance office,  explaining that my employer has not submitted any documentation, delaying my application.  Because a government employee interrupted my explanation to say, “I’m really sorry for your loss.”

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conversations today in which I dissolved into tears:

  1. Isa says:

    I’m glad at least one of those was because someone was being human, at least. So sorry you have to deal with bureaucratic BS on top of everything.

  2. Well, it gets me out of bed, at least. Maybe anger is therapeutic? Oy.

Leave a Reply

