The poor guy in medical billing

I called the hospital to ask about a bill I received that I was totally confused about (our provincial insurance covers most everything; it’s very unusual to ever see a bill from a hospital).

Me:  I’m confused about this bill – it’s for the day after I was discharged, and it says $20 for x-rays?  I didn’t have x-rays.

Hospital billing guy:  Hmm, let’s see.  Oh, yes, it says NB after your name on the invoice, right?  That means newborn.

Me:  Wait a minute.  You billed me $20 for x-rays you took during my son’s autopsy?  Really?

Silence.

Hospital billing guy:  I’m just going to put this in the write-off column, okay?  Please don’t pay that bill.  Pause.  Uh, sorry.  I’m sorry.  Don’t pay the bill.

Is it weird that I felt really bad for him?

Or that I can’t seem to throw the bill away, mesmerized by that NB?

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

