Sixteen week update

SCHOOL IS DONE.  Done.  Two glorious months to catch up on sleep, reading and knitting.  Two months to get all the little projects done that need to get done before we bring a baby home.  Two months where no one is going to kick me, probably. (Well, except for Puddin.  No one outside my body will probably kick me.) Ahh.

We’ve had a busy couple of weeks.  We attended three weddings.  We clean up well:

Image

I absolutely do not fit into any of my dresses anymore…the last wedding was it.  At least not if I care to breathe throughout the evening.  Time to buy some maternity clothes, I suspect.

Unfortunately, all this wedding-going meant that we missed Pride this year.  We popped downtown for brunch yesterday morning, just for a brief taste of the festivities, and I really noticed all the queer families this year.  Toronto does a tonne of family Pride stuff and it’s so awesome to see so many parents and kids out.  It’s hard to believe that next year we’ll be toting a six-month old!

In non-pregnancy related news, we celebrated our first wedding anniversary.  It is my sincere hope that I feel as lucky every year to be married to such a wonderful woman as I do right now.

Image

Pregnancy-wise, I feel great.  I’m sleeping better, I’m not nauseous very often, and my energy level is up.  Other than some foot cramps and a bit of heartburn, I’m just enjoying the break.  Every now and then it makes me nervous that I feel so good, actually.  I’m not feeling Puddin move yet and so there’s not very much feedback!  Although my belly is growing and so I assume that means that all is well.  I have an OB visit and anatomy scan this week, so I’ll get to have a look.  I can’t believe I just went 5 weeks with no ultrasound.  Hard to get used to after the six I had in the first 12 weeks!

Not a super-exciting update, I know, but at least it’s not about vomit, right?

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sixteen week update

  1. Happy anniversary!

    (I think it’s hilarious that you say you aren’t going to be kicked for the next 2 months. Puddin will definitely be kicking you frequently during that time!)

  2. meridith says:

    I’m so glad the nausea is on the way out – also, your dresses are wonderful!

  3. Ashleigh says:

    Sounds like things are going well! Beautiful pictures of the two of you!

  4. Lauren says:

    Love, how do you know when to use “tonne” vs “ton”? That is my critical question for you.

Leave a Reply

