Week fifteen update

The second trimester is awesome.

I know I’m behind on the updates, but something miraculous has happened during my silence.  I got better.  I got so much better.  One day I just realized I didn’t feel like someone was gradually, gently strangling me until I gagged.  Then I decided I was hungry…and kept down what I ate.  Then Lauren ate a banana.  Right in front of me!  And it was fine!  I stopped taking the Diclectin this week and all is well.  It’s a miracle.

The other fascinating development of the last few weeks has been my belly.  Instead of the end of day ring-o-bloat, I’ve suddenly got this roundness that just…stays. (Let’s be honest, I have the bloat too, but the other roundness is there all the time).  We went to a wedding last weekend, and trying on all the dresses I own was fairly hilarious.  Two are still manageable, but they’re a bit strained.  Which brings me to the other pregnancy milestone of the week…people commenting on how pregnant I look.  I have to admit, I love this.  I haven’t felt Puddin move yet, so some outward sign that he/she is growing kind of thrills me.  Plus, I’m looking forward to looking more obviously pregnant and less like I’ve just been eating more than usual.

Notes from the week:

  • Unbelievably (given the gaping spaces between buttons on my shirts), my students have not yet noticed my bump.  I say unbelievably because these are the same kids who perseverate if we happen to use yellow chalk instead of white or if the soap smells different.  I may actually get away with not telling them until September.  However, their parents are starting to notice!  Two this week asked.
  • I’m back on pretty much all food although I’ve developed a passion for tuna fish and pickles that is quite alarming, given that I don’t actually LIKE tuna fish typically.  I know I have to limit it in pregnancy and it’s the saddest thing ever.
  • I gave a speech at our grade five graduation yesterday for one of my kids who we’ve had for five years, a kid who had no language at all when he started and is now writing and acting out stories and talking about what books he will be able to read in middle school.  I honestly didn’t think I was going to make it through without sobbing.  So many feelings.
  • I’m on my third nasty head cold of pregnancy.  Is this a thing?  Will I be sick for six more months?
  • Four more days of school.  I’m SO EXCITED.  Mainly about all the extra sleep I’m going to get.
  • My condescending pregnancy books say that Puddin is starting to be able to hear, so Lauren has taken to playing Motown/singing to my belly.  It makes me want to marry her all over again.

So the moral of this update: Second trimester wins.  Upcoming excitement includes an ultrasound in a week and a half that might tell us the sex (if Puddin is co-operative – I’m not holding my breath after the NT), our first wedding anniversary, and a trip to BC when school lets out.  It’s all so much better than throwing up!

 

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

