Seven week update

Hello, nausea.  

Remember when I was chirping about being nauseous last week? I had no idea.  The subway and I are not currently on speaking terms…all that rattling and lurching, and people who eat bananas.  Bananas!  In public!  Sheesh.

I’m still figuring out what works for me.  Ginger chews don’t seem to help, crackers are kind of useful, especially with peanut butter. Sour candy is appealing. Hot food is evil.  I feel sick after I eat and even sicker if I’m hungry. One of my students tried to eat my last gluten free cracker yesterday and honestly… I would have wrestled him for it.

Oddly, I do find this all reassuring.  I figure that getting steadily sicker is a good sign that the blueberry (I really need a blog name) is growing. 

Notes from the week:

  • I have officially outgrown my bra, which is crazy.
  • I’m starting to have Feelings.  Many Feelings.  Poor Lauren.  She’s offered to have a reassuring conversation printed on index cards for when she’s not available.
  • I often read in the staff room at lunch, but recently I keep finding that I haven’t gotten very far, because my eyes are closed.
  • I did something very surreal this week.  I put a person the size of a blueberry on the waiting list for childcare.  This is Toronto.

We’re going to meet with the midwife tomorrow.  We’re still trying to sort out midwife vs OB because of my past brain surgery, but we’ll see if she’s willing to take me.  I’d prefer it, if it seems to be safe.  

For now, I’ll keep looking for that magic nausea cure and going to bed at 8:00.  There may actually be the makings of a baby in there.

 

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seven week update

  1. Boo to feeling sick. My naturopath said that ginger chews or even crystalized ginger often isn’t enough– her recommendation was ginger capsules. Apparently they’re safe and readily available? Also, B6.

    Also, finding daycare is a thing that needs to be done for embryos? Shoot, I’m behind schedule.

    • I’m going to try the B6! I’m willing to experiment.
      Talk to me about daycare sometime… it really depends on where/what you want. I used to find daycare vacancies for people as part of my job, which was something I used to have actual nightmares about. I can probably point you in the right direction.

  2. Ashleigh says:

    Toronto daycares are insane! I remember my friend telling me about receiving mail from the daycares addressed to “Fetus [insert last name]”.
    Which midwifery clinic are you going with? (maybe that’s something you don’t want to answer via blog! sorry!)

  3. We’re at Seventh Generation… we were really happy with the first appointment. I going to have a consultation with the high risk OB, and hopefully he’ll clear me to stay with the midwives. It looks hopeful!

  4. The Wife says:

    OMG Fetus (insert our last name) doesn’t have an awesome ring to it. However if that is what it takes to get Puddin into the daycare 50m from our house, so be it.

Leave a Reply

