Six week update

In the interest of growth, I’m going to start doing weekly updates, in spite of fear.  After all, this little lentil is growing, whether I feel superstitious or not.

Notable things this week:

  • I’ve developed a sense of smell that would make a bloodhound jealous.  My poor wife keeps being interrogated, with accusations like “Did you just open the fridge?” or “Are you going to put an onion in that?”  On this plus side, the bakery aisle at the grocery store smells delightful. So much cinnamon and gingerbread.
  • Speaking of smells, I’m having trouble tolerating the smell of cooking food.  I want to eat the food; I just don’t want to be anywhere near it while it’s being prepared.
  • I was commenting one night on how I hadn’t been nauseous yet, and discovered morning sickness promptly the following day.  It’s not so much that I’m throwing up much as that I’m always sure that I could, if I wanted to.  The main thing seems to be not to let myself get too hungry.  I need lots of snacks!
  • I’m noticing increasing fatigue… I hit a magnificent wall every day at about 6 pm (granted, I do a very busy job, and so far I’m managing at work okay).  The other day Lauren put me to bed at 8 after waking me up from the sofa.

All in all, I’m feeling pretty good this week.  My beta is climbing quickly, so I imagine that I might not say the same in a week or two.  We’ll get a chance to look at the little one next weekend when we have our first ultrasound.  Maybe then I’ll really believe that there’s something in there!

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six week update

  1. Ashleigh says:

    Sounds like things are about right 😉 Looking forward to hearing about the ultrasound. So exciting!

Leave a Reply

