In which I concede that the dollar store is useful for many things, but pregnancy tests may not be one of them.

So.

Interesting story.

After a good “we’ll never get pregnant, this is so frustrating” venting session, Lauren went off to her meeting and I did what felt right… went out to buy candy.  Roaming the aisles at Shoppers, I had a sudden full fledged daydream about the test being wrong. I could picture it perfectly… I’d be trying to convince myself that the days on my period would actually be sort of a vacation from cycle monitoring (isn’t that fun?) and the phone would ring, with a delighted nurse on the other end.  A surprise positive!

As soon as I had this vision I knew I would have to test again or I wouldn’t sleep for playing out my great surprise positive scenario.  I’d grab a First Response, it would be negative, I’d feel kind of stupid, and then I’d pitch it and move on.

Except, this happened.

photo copy

And I did what any sane person would do in my situation.  Sprinted out to buy another test.  So then this happened.

photo

 

Lauren was trapped in a business meeting, so all I could do was stare, and, stare, and stare.  Confirmed by beta this morning.  It’s early, and any number of things could happen, but I’m pregnant.

And it was April Fool’s Day.  Indeed.

Edited to add:  If you know me in real life, please keep this under your hat for a few weeks.  Thanks!

 

 

About tamarainwriting

I'm a queer, married, child and youth counsellor, in Toronto, Ontario. My wife and I had a beautiful stillborn son and we have an amazing one-year-old daughter. It's a complex journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In which I concede that the dollar store is useful for many things, but pregnancy tests may not be one of them.

  1. meridith says:

    Super exciting!!! Congratulations!

  2. This confirms my firm belief that candy can solve all that ails you. By which I mean, congrats!

  3. Ashleigh says:

    OMG!! I am SO thrilled for you guys 🙂 Congrats!

  4. The wife says:

    This was a hoot for two reasons:
    1. She emailed me to ask when she could text me, so as not to disturb me mid-meeting, NATURALLY I could not wait so the news came at a hilarious time
    2. Because of the positive tests as noted above, someone had to deal with that bottle of Veuve we opened… Which felt remarkably less hilarious come Tuesday morning.

  5. Pingback: So, some news… | Queerly Trying

Leave a Reply

